We will treat your pet one of our own

We are always on the cutting edge of technology

Our team is always on the lookout for new knowledge with the help of continuous training

Here is the list of services offered at the clinic

Health exam

Clinique-14

During your consultation which lasts between 20-30 minutes, you will first meet a technician who will take your animal’s health history. She will also weigh your pet, take its temperature, look for external parasites and take samples if needed. The technician will retrace the medical history and complete your pet’s health record. She can answer many questions regarding basic health care prevention, behaviour, nutrition, etc.

After a veterinarian will perform a detailed physical exam of your animal. An exam from head to toe : Body score, vital signs, abdominal palpation, lymph node palpation, joint palpation, heart and lungs auscultation, examination of the ears, eyes, teeth and fur.

The veterinarian will make recommandations based on your pet’s needs. (Vaccination, nutrition, neutering and necessary treatments)

Vaccination

clinique-30

Since each animal has different needs according to its age, its background and its lifestyle, we will determine your pet’s personal vaccination calendar.

Cat vaccines:

  • Infectious Rhinotreacheitus (Rhino): an upper respiratory infection that is easily transmitted from cat to cat by nasal and eye secretions and by saliva. The symptoms are fever, loss of appetite, sneezing a cough and purulent discharge from the nose and eyes. Cats that receive appropriate treatment can recover from the virus. But will stay carriers for life. -Feline Paneucopenie: also known as cat distemper is very difficult to treat and is often deadly. Signs are lethargy, diarrhoea, vomiting, fever and dehydration.
  • Calcivirus: another respiratory disease, extremely contagious and hard to treat. Symptoms are high fever, ulcers in the mouth and on the tongue and nasal and eye secretions. Symptoms can be mild or severe depending on the severity of the virus. Cats can recover but continue to transmit the virus.
  • Feline Chlamydia: a bacteria that causes infection of the eye and can also attack the lungs. Chlamydia is mostly contagious to young kittens. Be careful as it is contagious to humans by direct contact.
  • Feline Leukemia: feline leukemia attacks the immune system; therefore cats can show many different health problems. Cancer is one of the problems that can be a result of this disease. Cats can be carriers for months or even years without showing any outward signs. Unfortunately they can infect other cats without us ever knowing. There exists a test to detect this disease. But there is no treatment.
  • Rabies: like with dogs it attacks the central nervous system. Transmitted by the saliva of an infected animal. It can infect most mammals including humans. There exists no treatment for an animal infected by rabies.

Dog vaccines:

  • Canine Distemper: a highly contagious disease, it is transmitted by nasal and eye secretions of an infected dog. Symptoms are general apathy, fever, cough, diarrhoea and vomiting. The virus attacks a number of organs along with the nervous system and can be accompanied by convulsions and paralysis.
  • Canine Parvovirus: again extremely contagious, it is transmitted in the feces of contaminated dogs. Symptoms are quick to show, vomiting and severe bloody diarrhoea. Unfortunately this virus is often deadly.
  • Canine Corona virus: attacks the intestines and also causes diarrhoea.
  • Infectious Canine Hepatitis: is contracted by a dog coming into contact with the secretions (saliva, urine, or feces) of an infected dog. The first symptoms resemble that of distemper. Developing into renal problems, ulcers of the eye and respiratory problems.
  • Leptospirosis: is unfortunately a zoonose disease (transmittable to humans) and is appearing in Quebec more often. The animal shows signs of lethargy, loss of appetite, vomiting, fever, severe thirst, a higher production of urine, jaundice (yellowing of the skin and mucus membranes) blood in the urine and bloody diarrhoea. It is contacted my skin or mucus membrane contact, infected water, on food, in the soil or other elements contaminated by the urine of an infected animal. Wild animals are often carriers (raccoons, skunks).
  • Rabies: is a deadly virus which attacks the central nervous system. It is transmitted by the saliva of an infected animal, by a bite or by contact with an open wound. There is no cure for an animal infected by rabies. This is also a zoonose disease (transmittable to humans).
  • Bordetella (kennel cough): often picked up in kennels or obedience classes, transmitted by the saliva and nasal secretions of infected dogs. Similar to cold symptoms we suffer with the common cold. It can cause a deep chested cough and can also cause a runny nose.
  • Lyme Disease: Transmitted by the deer tick it is contagious to animals and humans (another zoonose disease). It causes flu like symptoms (lethargy, loss of appetite, fever), and can develop into chronic arthritis. Lyme disease can be deadly if left untreated. This is a disease being seen more frequently in Quebec. If you find a tick on your animal remove it as quickly as possible. There is a test available that detects lyme disease.
General surgery

hopvet_ste-agathe_008

  • Neutering: Dog, cat and rabbit
  • Spaying: Dog and cat
  • Cysts and lumps excisions
  • Certain orthopedic surgeries such as cruciate ligament repair and arthroplasty
  • Cystotomy (stone removal from the bladder)
  • Exploratory laparatomy (as for foreign body extraction)
  • And many more
Internal laboratory

 

laboratoire-interne

We have on site high quality devices that allow us to obtain rapidly the majority of biochemical, hematology, serology, urine and fecal tests. The results are rapidly transmitted enabling us to define a treatment plan if needed.

External laboratory
For special tests that cannot be done onsite, we work with Idexx laboratories and the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine in St-Hyacinthe.
Dental care

Clinique-27

Our hospital has cutting edge dentistry equipment. An ultrasound descaler and a digital dental xray machine. Our specially trained technicians perform the descaling, the polishing and the dental xray if needed. The veterinarian will perform any necessary dental extractions.

Specialized canine behaviour

Isabelle Gauthier is our intervener and canine behaviour specialist; she is this field for 9 years now and works with respect for the individual. She has a degree in training with Jacinthe Bouchard, a certification on aggressiveness and aggression, trained in canine sports; she treats all types and breeds of dogs. She uses only ethical techniques and scientifically recognised.

She offers you the following services:

  • Puppy training classes
  • Semi-private or private obedience classes
  • Fancy classes
  • Consultation for behaviour problems
  • Behaviour evaluation
  • Conference
  • All kinds of workshops (clicker, behavioural psychology,)
  • Companion service to find the right dog for you
  • Prepare your dog for baby’s arrival

Isabelle Gauthier
Intervener and canine behaviour specialist
www.aucoeurdevotretoutou.com
aucoeurdevotretoutou@gmail.com
514-519-7368

Exotic animals

site web 2

Dre Laurence Parent-Simard has a great interest in exotic animals. She will take care of your rabbit, ferret, guinea pig, hedgehog or your rat.

X-Ray

Clinique-23

For several years, we have a digital xray machine. This allows us to obtain faster, better quality and more precise images. Xrays play an important role in diagnostics.

Ultrasound

hopvet_ste-agathe_007

The ultrasound device helps evaluating the internal organs. With this technology, it is possible to obtain a sterile urine or tissue sample less invasively. The ultrasound also helps diagnose gestation in the first weeks.

Nutrition center
We understand how difficult it is to find what you need in the enormous pet food market. You must also be aware that it is impossible for us to know all the diets available at the pet stores and supermarkets. We have concentrated our efforts to study certain veterinary diets that correspond to the needs of your pets, wether it be for growth, maintenance, seniors, weight loss or special diets for medical conditions. We have chosen diets with superior quality from companies that have done a lot of research and that offer guaranties on their products. Thus, we can help you make an informed decision.
Weight loss program
Almost 50 % of our pets are overweight. This can have negative consequences on your pets health and quality of life. At our hospital, 2 trained technicians offer free weight loss advice and followups to help your pet lose weight. Make an appointment with them.
Geriatric program
For many years, we offer a geriatric program for animals over 7 years old. We recommend a geriatric blood profile and urine test. We will get excellent data on your pets health status and this will also serve us for future reference.
Blood pressure monitoring
We have a unit that mesures blood pressure in dogs and cats. This test helps us monitor different conditions such as heart, kidney and thyroid disease.
Euthanasia

euthanasie 1

Euthanasia means: a painless end of life.

It is with great respect and empathy that we will accompany you through this difficult process when the time comes.

You probably have several questions, such as: How will I know when it’s time, how to make the difficult decision, what to expect, can I assist, what’s the next step, where will my animal go next. Let’s try to answer these questions as much as possible in order to help you through this difficult journey.

How will I know when it’s time?

He seems to be in pain. There’s a significant weight loss.

He has difficulty defecating or is incontinent. Needs help getting around.

He has stopped eating and drinking.

Palliative care is exhausted, nothing relieves his pain.

You no longer have any quality of life either. You don’t sleep anymore and you must always be home for him.

Here’s a little suggestion: make a list of 5 things or activities that your pet loved. When he has lost interest in all or most of these activities, it may be time to discuss euthanasia with your family and your vet.

When the decision is made, what’s the next step?

Contact us so that we can schedule a time that is best for you. There is usually no wait for this kind of appointment.

We have a well fitted room in our hospital for your comfort for those last precious moments with your pet. You will be able to take the time you need to collect yourself before and after the procedure.

Do not hesitate to bring his favorite pillow or blanket with him.

If necessary, ask a loved one to accompany you.

Remember, if you are in doubt or are unsure of your decision please let us know so we can help you.

What to expect?

Upon arrival, you will be immediately directed to the room.

We will ask you to sign the form authorizing us to perform the euthanasia and at the same time we will offer you to settle your bill, so you won’t have to worry about anything afterwards.

A technician will come in and explain the procedure to you. She will administer a light sedation to your animal in order to reduce his stress. We will give you the time you need to say goodbye.

When you are ready, the vet and technician will return to perform the euthanasia. People are often surprised at how quick the whole process takes. The vet will use a stethoscope to confirm that your pet’s heart has stopped and that he has passed.

What happens to my pet afterwards?

It all depends on what you decide:

Cremation is the most popular option and you can choose to have your pet’s ashes returned to you. Please let us know in advance so that we can prepare the documents and the identification for the individual cremation. You may choose amongst several types of urns and/or commemorative products. You can visit Incimal’s website to see what they have to offer at www.incimal.com.

You don’t wish to have your pet’s ashes returned to you? Your pet will have a communal cremation by the same company. Rest assured that everything is done with the greatest respect.

Would you like to bury your pet at home? Before doing so, be sure to check with your municipality’s regulations for any restrictions.

Mourning

No one experiences grief the same way. Several members of the same family can have very different reactions and emotions. It is therefore important not to judge but to let everyone go through their grief in their own way.

Several feelings can arise; emptiness, sadness, guilt, grief, relief and even frustration. These emotions fade with time and happy memories shared with your pet will take their place to soothe your grief.

Know that you are not alone and that if you have any questions, we are here for you. We can also recommend support services as needed.

euthanasie 2

Nous traiterons votre compagnon comme si c'était le notre

Nous sommes toujours à la fine pointe de la technologie

Notre équipe est toujours à l'affût des nouvelles connaissances à l'aide de formation continue

Voici la liste des services offert à la clinique

Examen de santé

Clinique-14

Lors de votre consultation qui dure de 20 à 30 minutes, vous rencontrerez en premier lieu une technicienne qui fera une anamnèse sur l’état de santé de votre animal.  Elle prendra son poids, sa température, fera la recherche de parasites externes et au besoin effectuera certains prélèvements.  Elle retracera les antécédents médicaux et complétera son carnet de santé.  Elle saura répondre à plusieurs de vos questions sur les soins de base, le comportement, l’alimentation, etc.

Par la suite, le ou la vétérinaire procèdera à un examen physique minutieux de votre animal. Votre animal sera examiné de la tête aux pieds; état de chair, fourrure, signes vitaux, palpation abdominale, des ganglions et des articulations, auscultation du cœur et des poumons, vérification des oreilles, des yeux et des dents.

Il vous fera des recommandations sur les besoins de votre animal. (Vaccins, alimentation, stérilisation et traitements nécessaires.)

Vaccination

clinique-30

Comme chaque animal a des besoins différents selon son âge, ses antécédents et son mode de vie, lors de son premier examen nous établirons son propre calendrier de vaccination.

VACCINS POUR CHAT

  • LA RHINOTRACHÉITE INFECTIEUSE FÉLINE
    Maladie des voies respiratoires supérieures qui se transmet très facilement d’un chat à un autre par les sécrétions du nez, des yeux et de la bouche de l’animal malade. Les signes de cette maladie sont une fièvre, une perte d’appétit, des éternuements, une toux et un écoulement purulent du nez et des yeux. Les chats qui reçoivent un traitement approprié peuvent guérir de cette maladie mais ils peuvent demeurer porteurs du virus toute leur vie.
  • LA PANLEUCOPÉNIE FÉLINE
    Aussi appelée distemper du chat. Très difficile à traiter et peut être mortelle. Les signes sont de l’apathie, diarrhée, vomissements, déshydratation et fièvre.
  • LA CALICIVIROSE FÉLINE
    Autre maladie des voies respiratoires. Extrêmement contagieuse et difficile à traiter. Se manifeste par de la fièvre importante, des ulcères dans la bouche et souvent des sécrétions au niveau du nez et des yeux. Elle peut être bénigne ou grave dépendamment de la souche du virus. Les chats peuvent s’en remettre mais peuvent continuer de transmettre la maladie à d’autres chats.
  • LA CHLAMYDIOSE FÉLINE
    Cette maladie bactérienne provoque une infection des muqueuses de l’œil et peut aussi s’attaquer aux poumons. La chlamydiose est extrêmement contagieuse surtout chez les jeunes chatons. Et attention la chlamydiose peut être transmise à l’humain par contact direct.
  • LA LEUCÉMIE FÉLINE
    Le virus de la leucémie féline détruit le système immunitaire, donc l’animal peut être affecté par toutes sortes de problèmes de santé comme le cancer ou des surinfections diverses. Le problème c’est que votre animal peut être porteur de la maladie pendant plusieurs mois même des années avant de présenter des signes et pendant ce temps il peut donc continuer d’infecter ses semblables. Sachez qu’il existe un test de dépistage de cette maladie.
  • LA RAGE
    Comme chez le chien elle attaque le système nerveux central. Se transmet par la salive des animaux infectés. Cette maladie peut affecter la plupart des mammifères dont les humains. Il n’existe aucun moyen de guérir un animal atteint de la rage.

VACCINS POUR CHIEN

  • LE DISTEMPER CANIN : Extrêmement contagieux il se transmet par les sécrétions du nez et des yeux des chiens infectés. Se manifeste par de l’apathie, une fièvre, une toux, une diarrhée et des vomissements. Comme cette maladie s’attaque à de nombreux organes ainsi qu’au système nerveux elle peut s’accompagner de convulsions et de paralysie.
  • PARVOVIROSE CANIN: Encore trop présente, cette maladie se transmet par les selles des chiens contaminées. Très fulgurante, elle se manifeste par des vomissements et une diarrhée hémorragique importante. Cette maladie est malheureusement souvent mortelle.
  • CORONAVIROSE DU CHIEN s’attaque aux intestins et provoque aussi de la diarrhée.
  • HÉPATITE INFECTIEUSE DU CHIEN: Se transmet au contact des sécrétions, comme la salive, l’urine ou les selles d’un chien infecté.  Ses signes cliniques ressemblent à celui du distemper au début de la maladie. Ensuite elle entraîne une insuffisance hépatique, des lésions aux yeux et des troubles respiratoires.
  • LEPTOSPIROSE CANINE : C’est malheureusement une zoonose et une maladie en émergence au Québec. L’animal peut présenter de l’abattement, une perte d’appétit, des vomissements, de la fièvre, une augmentation de la soif et de la production d’urine, une jaunisse, du sang dans l’urine, des gastro-entérites hémorragiques. L’infection se transmet par contact de la peau ou des muqueuses,  avec de l’eau, des aliments, le sol ou autre élément contaminé par l’urine des animaux touchés. Nos animaux de la faune en sont souvent porteurs.
  • RAGE : Une maladie virale mortelle qui atteint le système nerveux central. Se transmet par la salive des animaux infectés, soit par morsure ou soit par contact avec une lésion cutanée.  Vous devez savoir qu’il n’existe aucun moyen de guérir un animal atteint de la rage. Cette maladie est aussi une zoonose.
  • TRACHÉO-BRONCHITE INFECTIEUSE DU CHIEN aussi appelée toux de chenil. On recommande ce vaccin pour le chien qui va en pension ou en cours d’obéissance. Comme le rhume chez l’humain, le virus se transmet très facilement d’un chien à un autre.  Il attaque le système respiratoire et se manifeste par des quintes de toux.
  • LA MALADIE DE LYME : Transmise par la tique du cerf de virginie touche aussi bien les hommes que les chiens. Elle provoque l’arthrite chronique et peut se révéler mortelle. Sachez que la maladie augmente au Québec depuis quelques années.  Si vous trouvez une tique sur votre animal il est important de la retirer rapidement.
Chirurgie générale

hopvet_ste-agathe_008

  • Stérilisation : Castration (chien, chat et lapin), Ovario-hystérectomie (chien et chat)
  • Ablation masses et kystes
  • Certaines interventions orthopédiques comme rupture du ligament croisé, arthroplastie
  • Cystotomie (retrait de calcul dans la vessie)
  • Laparotomie (retrait de corps étranger)
  • Et bien d’autres.
Intervention au laser

intervention-laser

Nous possédons un appareil au laser CO2 qui permet une approche chirurgicale plus sécuritaire et moins douloureuse.

Plusieurs avantages:

  • Moins de douleur : Le rayon laser neutralise les terminaisons nerveuses.
  • Moins de saignements : Le rayon scelle les petits vaisseaux sanguins sur son passage donc moins d’ecchymoses, et moins d’enflure.
  • Moins de risques d’infection : Le rayon détruit les micro-organismes présents au site d’incision.

Pour toutes ces raisons, votre animal aura une convalescence plus courte et une récupération post-chirurgicale plus rapide.

Laboratoire interne

 

laboratoire-interne

Nous disposons d’appareils de haute technologie et la majorité des analyses biochimique, hématologique, sérologique, urinaire et coprologique sont effectuées sur place la journée même.  Les résultats vous sont donc transmis rapidement afin de définir un plan de traitement au besoin s’il y a lieu.

Laboratoire externe
Pour des examens complémentaires qui ne sont pas faits sur place, nous utilisons le laboratoire Idexx et le laboratoire de la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire qui sont aussi très rapides.
Soins dentaires

Clinique-27

Notre Hôpital possède des appareils pour la dentisterie à la fine pointe de la technologie. Un détartreur à ultra-son et un appareil à radiographie dentaire numérique. Nos techniciennes spécialisées en dentisterie effectuent le détartrage, le polissage et les radiographies dentaires au besoin et le vétérinaire effectue les extractions dentaires s’il y a lieu.

Comportement canin spécialisé

Isabelle Gauthier est notre intervenante et spécialiste en comportement canin, elle pratique ce métier depuis plus de neuf ans, et travail dans le respect de l’individu.

Diplomé des Formations Jacinthe Bouchard, certifié pour avoir suivi une formation sur l’agression et l’agressivité, formé aussi en sports canin, elle traite avec tout les types de chiens ainsi que toutes les races. Elle utilise uniquement des techniques éthiques et scientifiquement reconnus.

Elle vous reçoit ici même pour vous offrir les services suivants:

  • Cours de maternelle pour chiots
  • Cours d’obéissance en semi-privé et en privé
  • Cours de fantaisies
  • Consultation pour problèmes de comportements
  • Évaluation comportementale
  • Conférence
  • Atelier de toute sortes (Clicker, Psychologie comportementale, …)
  • Service d’accompagnement afin de trouver le chien qui vous convient
  • Préparer votre chien à la venue de bébé

Isabelle Gauthier
Intervenante et spécialiste en comportement canin
www.aucoeurdevotretoutou.com
aucoeurdevotretoutou@gmail.com
514-519-7368

Radiographie

Clinique-23

Depuis plusieurs années maintenant, nous possédons un appareil numérique nous permettant d’obtenir des images instantanées plus précises et de meilleures qualités. La radiographie joue un très grand rôle dans la prononciation du diagnostic.

Échographie

hopvet_ste-agathe_007

L’échographie facilite l’évaluation des organes internes.  Avec cette technologie, il est possible de prélever un échantillon d’urine ou d’organe de façon stérile et moins invasive, pour analyse.  L’échographie permet également de diagnostiquer la gestation dès les premières semaines.

Centre de nutrition spécialisée
Nous savons qu’il est maintenant très difficile de se retrouver dans cet énorme marché des diètes animales.  Vous comprendrez aussi que nous ne pouvons pas connaître nous non plus toutes les diètes offertes dans les animaleries et les supermarchés.  Nous nous sommes donc concentrés à connaître et étudier certaines diètes vétérinaires pour répondre aux besoins de vos animaux tant pour la croissance, la maintenance adulte, les séniors, la perte de poids et les différentes diètes qui aident au niveau de certaines maladies. Nous avons sélectionné des diètes de qualité supérieure avec des compagnies qui ont fait beaucoup d’études et offrent des garanties sur leurs produits.  Nous pouvons donc vous aider à faire un choix éclairé.
Programme de perte de poids
Il y a près de 50% de nos animaux qui sont en surplus de poids.  Cela peut avoir des conséquences néfastes sur la santé et la qualité de vie de votre compagnon. Nous avons deux techniciennes spécialisées qui peuvent vous offrir un service gratuit de conseils et suivis pour la perte de poids de votre animal. Prenez rendez-vous avec elles.
Programme gériatrique
Depuis plusieurs années nous offrons un programme gériatrique aux animaux de plus de 7 ans. Nous vous recommanderons d’effectuer un bilan sanguin et urinaire de base.  Nous aurons ainsi d’excellentes données sur l’état de santé de votre compagnon et ces données serviront également de point de repère pour tout changement attribuable au passage des ans.
Mesure de pression sanguine
Nous possédons un appareil automatique qui mesure la pression artérielle chez le chien et le chat.  Cet examen permet un dépistage précoce de différentes affections cardiaques, rénales et thyroïdiennes. Elle peut être aussi demandée lors de la prise de certains médicaments.
Chiropratique

La chiropractie est une médecine préventive et curative. Elle peut être très utile pour favoriser le soulagement et la guérison de certaines conditions. Elle favorise le maintien et l’optimisation de la santé articulaire. Elle s’effectue par des manipulations, massages ou ajustements spécifiques très doux et précis sur la colonne vertébrale et les articulations.

Comme pour l’acupuncture, une vétérinaire spécialisée en chiropractie se déplace chez nous sur rendez-vous pour traiter votre animal. Informez-vous.

Dre Madeleine Tremblay

Acupuncture

L’acupuncture vient compléter l’approche médicale traditionnelle pour de nombreux problèmes de santé. Elle est particulièrement efficace pour la prise en charge de la douleur aiguë et chronique. Les animaux souffrant d’arthrose, hernie discale, problème neurologique, urinaire, digestif, dermatologique peuvent bénéficier de l’acupuncture.

Une médecin vétérinaire spécialisée en acupuncture offre ses services à notre hôpital. Informez-vous.

Dre Marie-Élaine Roy
www.veterinairecinqsaisons.com
info@veterinairecinqsaisons.com